Green Building Forum

Home  5  Books  5  GBEzine Subscription  5  News  5  HelpDesk  5  Your Cart  5  Register
EPC's - Green Building Forum

Hello

Welcome to the Green Building Forum. Reading any of the public conversations is free but if you want to join in the discussions then you need to register first to obtain a code for which there is a small charge. Please follow the link on the left. OR:

GREEN BUILDING MAGAZINE
Get the next four copies of this fantastic magazine delivered directly to your door.
1 year Green Building magazine subscription
Price: £20.00
Discount books available with subscription:

EPC's

Hello all,

I am a building surveying student and thought it wise to join!

Was wondering if anyone could tell me if there are any repercussions if a building (non-domestic) gets a bad rating on their EPC?

Thanks

Comments

• in the big bad world of british building no doubt this is the norm so probably nothing will happen considering the toothless & inadequate regulation.
    however, if you are a member of this forum you will get shot - figuratively speaking :bigsmile:

on that note, welcome, and yes, a wise move to join as there is a lot of good info on the way building practice should be going, and hopefully will.
  • Thanks Terry.

One other thing, are EPC's compulsory now or not? I'm finding it difficult to find out as I'm not sure if what I am reading about EPC's is up-to-date or whether it was from before they were made non-compulsory.

I would like to know about non-domestic EPC's as well as domestic.

Thanks
  • As of 1st October 2008, EPCs are now required across all building sectors: domestic and non-dom. These were introduced on a rolling basis from 6th April 2008. Triggers for EPCs are: on-completion, i.e. new build; and when a building is marketed for sale or lease. Suggest you download the non-dom guidance from CLG website: http://www.communities.gov.uk/archived/publications/planningandbuilding/guidancenondwellings