Green Building Forum

Home  5  Books  5  GBEzine Subscription  5  News  5  HelpDesk  5  Your Cart  5  Register
Code For Sustainable Homes - Green Building Forum

Hello

Welcome to the Green Building Forum. Reading any of the public conversations is free but if you want to join in the discussions then you need to register first to obtain a code for which there is a small charge. Please follow the link on the left. OR:

GREEN BUILDING MAGAZINE
Get the next four copies of this fantastic magazine delivered directly to your door.
1 year Green Building magazine subscription
Price: £20.00
Discount books available with subscription:

Code For Sustainable Homes

I have been looking through posts on this site regarding CfSH and thought I would share my experience and some advice which hopefully people will find useful.

I am an architect and in the process of building my own house. I am a big fan of the CfSH in principle as it takes such a broad outlook on a property / project, something which all other standards seem to fail in. When looking at finding an assessor I was a bit taken aback by the price quotes, and consequently undertook the training myself to become an assessor as it would also be another string to my bow for my architectural practice http://www.pa-ad.co.uk/.

Through the training and my experience thus far it has become blatantly obvious that CfSH is great in principal but not in practice. I myself am going for level 6 on my project (http://the-old-lemonade-factory.blogspot.com/) but the extra cost involved is quite shocking, hence the reason it will never become mainstream. There are benefits involved such as reduced mortgage rates and exemption from stamp duty, as well as the personal satisfaction, a practical efficient and green home, but these do not help with the upfront costs involved.